When you are looking at a Journal Title or a Journal Article in Grinnell's Catalog Primo, Click on the title of the item in your search results, and then scroll down to the View Full Text section for EJournals or Find in Library section for Physical Journals.
Example of an Ejournal Article
Then scroll to the View Full Text Section, and click on the link :
This should take you to a screen with a link to the PDF.
Example of a Physical Journal
Scroll down to the Find in Library Section :
Then you go to the designated library and find the issue on the shelf
When you find an Article in a Grinnell Database, it will either give you a link to the Full Text or the Option to request via Interlibrary Loan - see the Interlibrary Loan Tab for more info on that.
Example: Link to Full Text
This can take the form of a Search for Full Text Link or a PDF Link
Example 1: Search for full text
Example 2: PDF Link
Use Interlibrary Loan if there is no way to link to the Full Text.
PDFs of Articles usually come via ILL in 24 hours
Option 1 : Interlibrary Loan option from a database - This is rare, but sometimes an article is indexed in a Grinnell Database, but the PDF is not available directly. when this happens after clicking on the Find Full Text link you will be taken to Grinnell's Primo Catalog and you will get the Sign in prompt :
Then you will get this screen - Choose Grinnell Students, Faculty & Staff
And then sign in with your Grinnell Credentials.
Then you will see the option to request via Interlibrary Loan
Click on that and follow the Prompts.
Requesting via Interlibrary Loan Directly, when the article is not found in a database or in Primo. When you find an article in another article or in printed material, you don't have a button to push, but you can still get it via Interlibrary Loan.
Step 1 ~ Go to the Library Webpage and choose My Interlibrary Loans. This should take you to your ILL account if you are logged into Grinnell or you may need to do that.
Step 2 ~ Click on "New Request" and then Journal Article
Step 3 ~ This will open a form and you can either cut and paste or type in the information on the article you want from your source.
Step 4 ~ Submit