Databases - Communication Research - Tutorial 100-20 : The Pre-history of the Selfie

Communications Research Perspectives

Grinnell does not have a database solely focused on Communications Research.

The databases listed in the tabs to the right have extensive coverage of Communications Research.

Each Tab lists techniques for each database

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1952 - present. Indexes a large number of journals in the field of Communication Research

1st Limit to Communications Research Journals ~ Because Sociological Abstracts includes fields in addition to Communications, you need an extra step to focus your search.

Type the term communication* In the 1st search box
Change the field to "Publication Title - PUB"

Add Topic Keywords ~ Type Keywords for your topic in the 2nd box and leave Fields as "Anywhere except full text"

ProQuest Central
This Database covers all topics, but it indexes a substantial number of journals in the field of Communications

ProQuest Central has the same ProQuest interface you may have become familiar with.

1st Limit to Communications Research Journals ~ Because ProQuest Central includes fields in addition to Communications, you need an extra step to focus your search.

Type the term communication* In the 1st search box
Change the field to "Publication Title - PUB"

Add Topic Keywords ~ Type Keywords for your topic in the 2nd box and leave Fields as "Anywhere except full text"

Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Subject areas cover abuse & neglect, addiction, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty & homelessness, and more.

Social Services Abstracts has the same ProQuest interface you may have become familiar with.

1st Limit to Communications Research Journals ~ Because Social Services Abstracts includes fields in addition to Communications, you need an extra step to focus your search.

Type the term communication* In the 1st search box
Change the field to "Publication Title - PUB"

Add Topic Keywords ~ Type Keywords for your topic in the 2nd box and leave Fields as "Anywhere except full text"

Telecommunications Database
This database covers Communications Research with an emphasis on the computing / device / software aspects

Telecommunications Database has the same ProQuest interface you may have become familiar with. This one is limited to telecommunications, so you don't need to add the communications keyword.

Note: Some of these articles are reviews of new software or hardware, and so may not be relevant to your assignment.

To focus on articles discussing ideas - restrict your terms to the All Subject Headings & Indexing - SU field instead of anywhere or title.