Tutorial 100-20 : The Pre-history of the Selfie

Use One Article to Find Three More

When you find a really good article on your topic, you can use it to find more.  This strategy does not rely on keywords.  It means you may find articles that you couldn't find in a database because the author didn't use the same terms you were searching for.   

• Step 1 ~ As you are reading the article, not the parenthetical references, endnote or footnote references that are provided in the sections that interest you the most. 
• Step 2 ~ Look up the reference in the Bibliography or Works Cited list at the end of the article. 
• Step 3 ~ Does it look useful?  If so, try to get to the full text by looking it up in Primo the Grinnell Catalog, or in a database in the subject area that the journal seems to be in. 

Example :

1. Excerpt from a journal article : 

"Social media platforms that capitalize on sharing images have raised important questions for researchers examining the relationship between media and body image (Perloff, 2014)."

2. Look for Perloff, 2014 in the Bibliography at the end : 

"Perloff, R. M. (2014). Social media effects on young women’s body image concerns: Theoretical perspectives and an agenda for research. Sex Roles, 71(11–12), 363–377. doi:10.1007/s11199-014-0384-6" 

3. Get the full text of the article.  Options : 

•  Primo the Grinnell Catalog - choosing the search type "Books, Articles & Media at Grinnell" 
• A Database that covers your topic - in this example PsycInfo
• Request via Interlibrary Loan. 

Repeat Often!