LibGuides: History: Newspapers/News Media

Scarlet & Black

Scarlet & Black (Grinnell College) This link opens in a new window
2007–present. Newspaper published by the students of Grinnell College. The Scarlet & Black website features articles from 2007 to the present. The fully-searchable online archive covers from the first edition in September 1894 through May 2018.

Policy Statement:
This online file of the S&B represents the archive of the paper as originally published and maintained by the Grinnell College Libraries. We seek to balance open access to the historical record with students’ reasonable expectations of privacy. The online file is open to all users of the Internet for searching. However, it will not be crawled or indexed by Internet search tools like Google. The content of the online file will not be altered and will not be removed, except as might be required by law. Questions or concerns should be addressed to the Librarian of the College.
Note: For current issues only.

Historical Magazines and Newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827–1998 This link opens in a new window
A subset of America's Historical Newspapers, created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this collection include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN), and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1690–1998. Electronic editions-of-record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers compiled in a single database. Paid ads are excluded.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Online database documenting life in America from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction to the first decade of the 20th century, offering the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Created in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, the collection covers topics including politics, religion, health, entertainment, history, science, and the economy.
American Proxy Wars – Korea and Vietnam: Global Perspectives This link opens in a new window
1946–1975. A collection of radio broadcasts, periodicals, newspapers, and government documents from around the world, collected and translated by a U.S. government agency that was part of a CIA media-monitoring project. The documents include a mix of government-level analysis, eyewitness accounts, and journalism that offers new insights into the wars in Korea and Vietnam.
Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
The largest single collection of English news media from the 17th and 18th centuries, this database provides unique content for research into a wide range of political, educational, economic, historical, and journalistic topics.
Chicago Tribune Historical (1849–2010) This link opens in a new window
Searchable online access to the full text of the Chicago Tribune (including advertisements) from 1849 through 2010. Available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. For more recent editions, see US Newsstream.

Chronicling America: Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program
Provides free and searchable access to more than 11 million pages of historic newspapers published in the United States and its territories between 1789 and 1922.

Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 2, 3, 11 (1690–1922) This link opens in a new window
1690–1922. Full text of hundreds of early American newspapers, including titles from all of today's 50 states. Part of America's Historical Newspapers.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808–1980 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808–1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.
Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives This link opens in a new window
1958–1994. Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East during the Cold War, covering cultural, economic, and political developments within this volatile region.
New York Times Historical (1851–2015) This link opens in a new window
Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2015. For current access, see U.S. Newsstream, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources, or go to the New York Times Subject Guide for instructions on registering for a free account.
Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction: Global Perspectives This link opens in a new window
1945–1996. From the Cuban missile crisis to the Gulf War, the development, proliferation, and containment of weapons of mass destruction shaped technology, international conflicts, politics, and more. This collection of news reports, television transcripts, and radio transcripts from around the world was collected and translated by a U.S. government agency that was part of a CIA media-monitoring project. The documents include a mix of government-level analysis, eyewitness accounts, and journalism that offers new insights into the nuclear arms race.
Pravda Archive: Global Perspectives This link opens in a new window
1959–1996. For decades the official newspaper of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, Pravda was widely read both within the Soviet states and by foreign diplomats, politicians, and intelligence agencies. Pravda has long been considered a bellwether of Soviet thought. This database includes both the perspective of the Communist Party during the Soviet era and that of Russia’s conservative-nationalist opposition in articles published after the dissolution of the Soviet Union.
Propaganda and the Chinese Press: Global Perspectives This link opens in a new window
1946–1996. A collection of thousands of articles distributed by the New China News Agency (Xinhua), the official media outlet of China’s communist party, gathered and translated by a U.S. government agency that was part of a CIA media-monitoring project. The documents offer new insight into China’s perspective on international events and issues, as well as the role of communist mass media in Chinese culture.
Times Digital Archive [London Times] This link opens in a new window
1785–2019. Fully searchable access to the complete backfile of The Times of London, including text, images, editorials, and advertisements. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
Open-access digital collection of local, regional, and national newspapers published in the 1920s by organizations affiliated with or sympathetic to the Ku Klux Klan. Some anti-Klan publications are also included, showing the tensions in this period between pluralism and tribalism in America.