History

A fully searchable archive of Congressional documents related to all aspects of civil rights in the United States, from segregation to women’s suffrage to discrimination of all kinds. The digitized materials include publications and reports from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, the executive branch, special investigations, and non-governmental organizations.

Complete text of the Congressional Record from 1789 to 1999.

Fully searchable database of primary-source documents from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office of the United Kingdom, providing insight into the workings of British foreign policy in the 20th century.

1957–1995. As a unit of the Central Intelligence Agency, the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) prepared translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from around the world, particularly communist and developing countries. These reports, covering military, socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, and technical issues and events, were used by U.S. government officials, various agencies, and the research and industrial communities. Now in a fully seachable digital edition, a vast body of foreign materials is available in English to researchers studying geopolitics, public policy, the Cold War, and more.

1824–2010. Searchable database of U.S. Congressional committee hearings, both published and unpublished, with abstracts, indexing, and full-text PDFs.

1817–1994. Online access to the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, with numerous images and statistical tables. Print version, approximately 13,800 bound volumes, available upon request.