History

Online database containing over 60,000 primary-source documents from the beginnings of European settlement of North America to the end of World War II. Sourced from the collections of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, it is divided into two modules: Module 1: "Settlement, Commerce, Revolution, and Reform: 1493–1859" and Module 2: "Civil War, Reconstruction, and the Modern Era: 1860–1945." Also provides essays, chronologies, videos, and interactive features. Automated extraction of data is not allowed directly from the database without the written consent of Adam Matthew--see a Librarian for assistance.

1941–1996. Thousands of commentaries on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American, and Native American history covering foreign reactions to America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.

1789–1838. Full-text database of U.S. Congressional materials.

The Americas collection strives to represent the full range and complexity of the Americas history by bringing together key documents that examines political and cultural relationships from a hemispheric perspective. Its goal is to represent the full range and complexity of a multilingual “Americas” that includes Canada, the Caribbean, and Latin America from the beginning of colonization to the present.

1888–present. Full-text online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Translated news broadcasts and publications of the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and around the world.

Fully-searchable database of approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source documents on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Materials include newsletters, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, manuscripts, and pamphlets that shed light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

1830–1865. A primary-source collection that details the work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War through approximately 15,000 articles, documents, manuscripts, proceedings, correspondence, and literary works created by nearly 300 Black abolitionists across North America and Europe.

1945–1991. Translated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.

Contains 40 collections consisting of over 100,000 meticulously indexed declassified government documents, covering critical world events and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II to the present. Bibliographies, chronologies, glossaries, overviews, and photographs are included.

1473–1700. Contains digital facsimile page images of over 130,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere.

1701–1800. Digitized copies of over 180,000 English-language titles and editions published primarily in the United Kingdom and the Americas. Includes books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed ephemera. We subscribe to both ECCO I and ECCO II. Part of Gale Primary Sources.

1492–present. A digital collection of original primary documents relating to intercultural contact, including aspects of imperialism, religion, race, and class.

In cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, this database is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas is covered, including natural disasters, disease outbreaks, and slavery.

Full-text database containing all U.S. Executive Branch documents listed in the "Checklist of Public Documents, 1789–1909" (and not printed in the U.S. Serial Set), as well as thousands of additional documents from 1910–1939. Indexed by subjects, names, agency report numbers, and SuDocs Classification.

1941–1996. As the United States' principal historical record of political open-source intelligence for more than half a century, the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report provides insights into six decades of turbulent world history. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Digitized from original paper copy and high-quality microfilm, this fully searchable collection features full-text transcripts from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, China, Eastern and Western Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, and the Soviet Union. Includes the FBIS Daily Report Annexes and five topic-based sub-collections.

1543–1945. Online collection of books, pamphlets, and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights, originally created by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen in the late 19th century. The collection is noteworthy for its size, scope, and diversity, and contains substantial material relating to women's experiences in the public arena as well as all aspects of women's lives within the home.

1941–1996. Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.

Digital resource presenting insight into interactions between the indigenous peoples of North America and Europeans from their earliest contact up to the civil rights movement of the mid-20th century. Contains material from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection, including books, manuscripts, artwork, photographs, and newspapers. Highlights include rare documents such as treaties, speeches, diaries & travel journals, and historical maps.

Digital library that archives texts, audio, music, moving images, software, videos/films, and web pages from the Internet for researchers, historians, and scholars, as well as the general public. Also provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.

Online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters, and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and the community.

1937–1967. Online archive of primary source material from the Mass Observation project, a pioneering social-research organization in Britain in the mid-20th century. The collection combines scientific observation of human behavior with diaries and personal writings from a panel of volunteers, and includes both published and manuscript materials.

This collection showcases the development of 'popular' remedies and treatments in America during the 19th century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. These popular practices were built upon earlier traditions of folk medicine and help to show the relationships between the old-style apothecaries and the newly emerging scientific methods. Trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine, and hydrotherapy are covered. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.

Covering a span of 400 years, this digital primary-source collection highlights the society, politics, religious beliefs, customs, and momentous events in the Americas from the late 15th century to the first decades of the 20th century. Materials include books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other documents from an assortment of genres—from sermons and political tracts to legislation and literature—drawn from Joseph Sabin’s famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time.

Fully-searchable digital manuscript archive offering researchers insight into the behind-the-scenes workings of the British government in the 16th and 17th centuries, from King Henry VIII through Queen Anne. Organized into four parts, the first two covering domestic and foreign papers of the Tudor Dynasty, and the next two covering the Stuart Dynasty—with facsimile images of almost three million documents. In addition to domestic affairs, the collection provides coverage of Britain's diplomatic relations and trade with its European neighbors, the Ottoman Empire, Russia, Asia, Africa, and the Americas.

Database of primary source documents from women's reform organizations such as the Women's Trade Union League, the National Association of Colored Women, Henry Street and Hull House settlements, and the National Women's Party.

Online collection of primary source materials focusing on women's role in the United States economy, selected from Harvard University's library and museum holdings. Topics include commerce, costs of living, health and hygiene, home life, recreation, social issues, working conditions, and workplace regulations.

1945–1996. This collection brings diverse global reactions to major 20th-century social movements together into a single fully searchable resource and offers researchers valuable insight into the protests and reforms that changed the course of world history. The documents, collected and translated by a U.S. government agency that was part of a CIA media-monitoring project, include a mix of government-level analysis, eyewitness accounts, and journalism that offers new insights into protest and reform movements around the world.

1817–1994. Fully searchable database containing nearly 75,000 maps, published as part of U.S. Congressional Serial Set.