English

The aim of this site is to point you to government information resources that will help you add realistic details to the stories you write.

A collaborative digital archive and research project devoted to 18th-century poet, letter-writer, and scholar Thomas Gray (1716–1771), author of the acclaimed "Elegy Written in a Country Churchyard" (1751). Founded in 2000, the Archive's mission is to facilitate and support the study, research, and teaching of Gray's life and works.

Offers online versions of Shakepeare's complete works, along with a concordance and text and character searching. The site is intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind. OSS includes the 1864 Globe Edition of the complete works, which was the definitive single-volume Shakespeare edition for over a half-century.

Provides links to some of the best starting places for finding online critical writing. This resource is particularly good for finding information on English-language authors, but also includes many authors whose works have been translated into English. This website is maintained by ipl2, a merger of the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII).

A multi-faceted project that aims to be a major resource for the study of modernism and its rise in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922, and a geographical range that extends to wherever English language periodicals were published.

Created by UNESCO, The Index Translationum is a list of books translated in the world, i.e. an international bibliography of translations. The Index Translationum was created in 1932; please check for updates on the website if you are seeking information on recent translations.

A collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.

Designed to meet the needs of general readers, who require a full, line by line, translation; of students, who want to understand the grammar and the meter; and of scholars, who want immediate access to a critical apparatus identifying the nearly 2000 eighteenth-century restorations, editorial emendations, and manuscript-based conjectural restorations.

Site provides information on Charles Dickens's novels, including plot descriptions, character lists, and contextual commentary. Other content includes a glossary, discussion of staging, a scholarly bibliography, and links to additional information.

A catalog and online archive of audio recordings (from the Berkeley Language Center) and paper materials (from the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages) dating from 1950. The collection includes indigenous language material from throughout the Americas, with a particular focus on the languages of California and western North America.