English

Initial results will show only current year's newly published biographies. Use the search bar to search for specific names across all years of publication.

Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African-American culture on the American cultural landscape. 2009 ed.

In nearly 700 entries, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period—from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass—and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.

Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, the Dictionary covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. It also contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology.

Widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field, this 15-volume second edition includes over 3000 entries. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers.

Surveys American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present. The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works, literary movements, periods, themes, historical perspectives and social context. 2004 edition.

Documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.

Brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction, and post-colonialism.

An unprecedented collection of the impertinent, vile, censored, hip, witty, and fascinating slang words of the English language. Covering five centuries of innovation in all English-speaking regions of the world. Over 100,000 words are defined; each word is authenticated by genuine and full-referenced citations of its use.