In Burling Library: Visit the Media Room on the lower level.
In Primo: Search for keywords and limit results to material type Audio or Videos.
PrimoPrimo, the Grinnell College Libraries' search system, includes millions of books, media, journals, and primary sources from Grinnell's collections and from libraries around the world, as well as billions of articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Streaming audio of hard-to-find music recordings from independent record labels and archives, such as New World Records and Composers Recordings, Inc. Covers a wide range of genres of American music. Also provides complete and original liner notes and essays.
Streaming audio repository for jazz music, broadly defined. Genres include bebop, acid jazz, big band music, and range from folk to reggae to gospel to bossa nova and many more. Searchable by performer, composer, genre, and song or album title. New content is added on a regular basis.
Cross-searchable platform for music databases that includes the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference, Classical Scores Library, and more. Contains thousands of books, scores, and audio and video recordings.
Streaming music service primarily for the genres of classical music, contemporary jazz, and world/folk, with New Age, pop/rock, and Chinese orchestral music represented as well.
Includes mobile app for iPhone and Android. To use this app: Download the app from your respective store. If you have a Student/Faculty Playlist account, your email address and password will also act as your login credentials for the NML mobile apps. If you do not have a Student/Faculty Playlist account, sign up here. Complete the registration process by clicking the activation link in your email. The email address and password you assign will act as your login credentials for the NML mobile apps.
Streaming service featuring a wide range of World music, representing over 1,500 cultural groups. Includes the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings catalogue.
Established in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. Our collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of Black radio.
An on-demand video streaming service designed for libraries and other educational institutions, specializing in feature-length films and documentaries. Faculty can request films be licensed for class use.
Cross-searchable platform for music databases that includes the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference, Classical Scores Library, and more. Contains thousands of books, scores, and audio and video recordings.
Fully searchable streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries. Includes nearly 2,000 customizable full-length videos with subtitles available in multiple languages.
Serving in part as both a directory and a calendar, this site is designed for anyone seeking live classical concerts, opera, and dance performances worldwide. Any company performing anywhere can upload schedules to the central database, with the focus being the major U.S. and British orchestras and opera houses. Schedules for major venues are maintained as well. Search by category first and then narrow by time, place, performer, composer, or work.
