LibGuides: Classics: Reference Resources

Online Reference Sources

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Classics This link opens in a new window
A repository of up-to-date bibliographical articles written and reviewed by top scholars in the field of Classics, including citations, annotations, and commentary on a wide variety of topics. The Oxford Bibliographies database is designed to help researchers cut through academic information overload by providing expert recommendations.

Oxford Classical Dictionary (online)
Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, the Dictionary covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. It also contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology.

The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites by Richard Stillwell; William L. MacDonald (Editor); Marian Holland McAllister (Editor)
Call Number: Oversize - Main Library 1st Floor DE59 .P7 1976
ISBN: 0691617104
Publication Date: 1976, 2017
Available online and in print.
Dictionary of Classical Mythology by Jennifer R. March
ISBN: 1782976353
Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor)
Call Number: Burling 1st Floor DE5 .O94
ISBN: 0198601654
Publication Date: 1999
Available online and in print.

Library of Congress Recommended Sites for Classical and Medieval History
A list of reference resources that can supplement work in Classics.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome
The online third edition of the Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the people, places, events, and ideas of ancient Rome.
Who's Who in the Classical World
A biographical dictionary of major figures in ancient Greece and Rome.

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World by Hubert Cancik; Helmuth Schneider; Manfred Landfester (Editor); Christine F. Salazar
Call Number: Burling 1st Floor DE5 .P33313x 2006
ISBN: 9004142215
Publication Date: 2006
Available in print.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
Call Number: Burling 3rd Floor PA2361 .T4
Publication Date: 1900-
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World by Joyce Salisbury
Call Number: Burling 2nd Floor HQ1127 .S25 2001
ISBN: 1576070921
Publication Date: 2001
Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts by Manfred Landfester (Editor)
Call Number: Burling 1st Floor DE5 .P33313x 2007
ISBN: 9004167838
Publication Date: 2009
The Genealogy of Greek Mythology by Vanessa James
Call Number: Oversize - Main Library 1st Floor BL785 .J36 2003
ISBN: 1592400132
Publication Date: 2003
Ancient Greece and Rome
Call Number: Oversize - Main Library 1st Floor DE5 .A57 1998
ISBN: 0684805073
Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece by Nigel Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Oversize - Main Library 1st Floor DF16 .E52
ISBN: 0415973341
Publication Date: 2005
Religions of the Ancient World by Sarah Iles Johnston
Call Number: Burling 1st Floor BL687 .R47 2004
ISBN: 0674015177
Publication Date: 2004