LibGuides: Spanish: Reference Resources

Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford's encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use online reference tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as numerous images, audio files, and video clips.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Digital multimedia version of the premier English-language encyclopedia.

Spanish Wikipedia
The Spanish Wikipedia (Spanish: Wikipedia en español) is a Spanish-language edition of Wikipedia, a free, online encyclopedia. It is the 9th-largest Wikipedia as measured by the number of articles and has the 4th-largest number of edits.

Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia that addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements, and historical events around the world, with interactive features that enable the user to place literature within its historical context.

Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations
This A-to-Z reference details the important people, places, and events that have shaped the relationship between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico and the nations in Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
Affiliated with the University of Texas at Austin, LANIC provides access to internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.