LibGuides: Art History and Studio Art: Reference Resources

Reference Resources

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Online art encyclopedia, covering all aspects of visual culture. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art. Contains articles, bibliographies, learning resources, and searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other arts organizations.
MuseumsEtc Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic books on museum-related topics from Exact Editions.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use online reference tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as numerous images, audio files, and video clips.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford's encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Includes over 3,000 essays written by subject experts and assembled into a consistent, readable, and straightforward alphabetical reference work. Entries cover the major areas of popular culture: art, dance, film, music, print culture, social life, sports, television and radio, theater, and more. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Off site please request N31 .D5 1996
Dictionary of Art/ Jane Turner, ed.
more...less...
With 6700 contributors it covers all aspects of the visual arts in all places at all times. Coverage includes biographical, geographical, philosophical, and theoretical information, as well as forms and themes, social aspects, and cultural influences. The entriesinclude useful bibliographies, and the vast array of images, including artworks and objects, architectural designs and archaeological sites, maps and charts.