Art History and Studio Art

The collection of the Grinnell College Museum of Art began more than a century ago. Since then, gifts, bequests, and judicious purchases with endowed acquisition funds have helped to build a collection of more than 5,000 works of art. The collection is distinguished by its works on paper by artists who have used the media for social and political commentary.

The Grinnell College Museum of Art collection includes over 4000 works of art, featuring works on paper (prints, drawings, and photographs), many in portfolios. The collection spans Medieval to contemporary art, with a strength in 20th and 21st-century European and American art. The collection also includes paintings, sculptures, and ceramics, along with small holdings of African, Pueblo, Seri, and Near Eastern material. Faulconer Gallery in the Bucksbaum Center for the Arts serves as the museum's display space. A separate print room is located in Burling Library for study of the collection.

Search images that are publicly available on the internet.

Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

Brought to you by the Public Domain Review: A curated collection of more than 10,000 out-of-copyright historical images, free for all to explore and reuse. Our aim is to offer a platform that will serve both as a practical resource and a place to simply wander — an ever-growing portal to discover more than 2000 years of visual culture.