Skip to Main Content

French & Arabic

Finding French Language News

  • Access World News is the best source to use to find news by Keywords. 
    • You can use English or French Keywords
    • You can limit your search by Country or Language  Neither PressReader or the Websites like 20 Minutes work that well for keyword searching, they are better for browsing.
  • Nexis-Uni OR Access World News are the best tools to search a specific Newspaper by Keyword. 
  • PressReader is great if you want to Browse the latest issue of a title they have.  It is not good for searching.
  • Follow the Directions for searching specific tools and/or how to find out where to look at a specific title.

1978-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from nearly 4,000 Newspapers including many from France and Francophone countries.

Aggregates and indexes content from over 130 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources. Available in English or French.

Nexis Uni provides Access to a number of French-language news publications including Le Monde. It is particularly strong in legislative, government, corporate, financial, and demographic information, as well as market research and industry reports. It is best for searching the content and then limiting the results to French language or specific countries.  It does not work for browsing an entire issue of a periodical

A comprehensive digital news resource offering newspapers and magazines from around the world including France and Francophone Countries. PressReader provides same-day full-content access to its periodicals. PressReader is best when you want to browse one issue. For example, if you wanted to check Le Monde every day, this would be a good way to do that.  If you want to search a title for specific content across issues, then you are better off using one of the databases in this list.  For specific major titles, check the Sources by Title tab in this guide. 

1970-Present. Large General periodical resource that includes news sources, is international in scope, and includes many resources in French, about France & francophone countries.

This is a daily news site in French, it has global coverage.

This is a weekly French news site that looks back on the news highlights from the previous week.

This is a French, state-owned international news television network.  The website provides French and global news.

This YouTube Channell provides a daily summary of the French news from Monday to Friday

  • RFI - le Journal en français facile de RFI - This site delivers podcasts and exercises containing news content, in French that is easy for beginners to understand.  It is useful for both getting some news content and also for practicing your French

This is a French commercial television Networkfree information site that provides news in French

This list provides information on how to access specific news periodicals.  It notes the best option for searching the publication by keyword and then the best option for browsing a single issue of the title.

Once you know which database or site to use, look at the section in this guide that gives specific information on how to search or browse that particular database

20 Minutes (Paris)

  • Search via Nexis Uni
  • Browse via Press Reader

Jeune Afrique 

  • Search via Nexis Uni
  • Browse via Press Reader

L’Express

  • Search via Nexis Uni
  • Browse print magazine issues, located in Burling Library, 1st floor, Current Periodicals section

Le Figaro

  • Search via Nexis Uni

Le Monde  

  • Search via ProQuest - using this link Le Monde
  • Browse issues
    • Online via the same ProQuest link to Le Monde
    • Print issue in Burling Library, 1st floor, Current Periodicals section

Le Monde diplomatique

Le Soleil (Dakar, Senegal)

  • Search via Newsbank
  • Browse via Newsbank

Liberté (Algérie)

  • Search via Nexis Uni

Liberté (Canada)

  • Browse via Press Reader

Ouest-France

  • Search via Nexis Uni

Access World News - Detailed Instructions

Note: Access World News is given as the name of the database in the upper left. However "NewsBank" the company that provides the database is much larger, so some may refer to this as "NewsBank" - but NewsBank actually sells many diffrent databases and this is just one of them.

Searching By Country ~ 

Start by Clicking where it says "Map Search" just under the right side of the search box.

Then it takes a moment....  But a Map of the World with regions listed on the left will come up

Then you can search all the newspapers in that country OR choose a specific newspaper

 

Searching by Language - French

On the main search Screen - start by typing terms about your topic

If you use French terms - you will get French sources, unless you use a French idiom commonly used in the US

If you want to search by English terms - but get French results - you can do that too

Just search for the English terms, and then limit your results by Language, choosing French - Scroll down and look at the limit bar on the left till you see Language - then click on the + sign.

 

Searching within a Publication Title

If you want to search in a particular newspaper, for example Le Soleil from Dakar you can do that if it is a publication indexed by Access World News.

Steps

1. Go to Access World News from a link in this guide or the Databases A-Z list and then click on the menu item "More Search Options"

Access World News Search by Publication Title

2. In the 1st Search Box, type the Title of the Newspaper or Magazine you want to search within and change the Field Type to SOURCE

Do not press Search yet.

Access World News Choose Source

3. In the 2nd Box type your keywords and then change the field type to "Select a Field (optional).  Since you are searching within a French publication, these should be French keywords. Keep it simple and do multiple searches if needed. 

Access world News Keywords

4. Press the Blue Search button - Wait, and get your results