LibGuides: French &amp; Arabic: Databases

Language & Literature Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes French Literature from France as well as from all Francophone countries
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly literature across many disciplines and Formats. This includes French and Francophone Literature.
This can be particularly good for 21st century Francophone writers
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital repository of the full Text of both Scholarly Journals and Books
Includes many titles on French and Francophone Literature - but not as many as in databases listed above this one.
It is particularly useful for finding obscure writers and works mentioned deep *within* the full text of a chapter or article.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Combined Library Catalog of over 50,000 libraries world Wide. Includes most books published in the World, including French & Francophone countries
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Includes French language & literature from France & Francophone countries.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Covers film and television theory, writing, production, cinematography, and reviews. Includes French films from France & Francophone countries

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Online database indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes Arabic literature from Medieval and Modern eras.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Includes sources on Arabic language & literature
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Covers film and television theory, writing, production, cinematography, and reviews. Includes coverage of Arabic Cinema & Television

Comparison between Databases that cover French Literature
Database Name	Description	What it is best for
MLA International Bibliography	Covers Modern Languages & Literature	Has the largest amount of Scholarly Published Journal articles and Book Collections of Essays Has the value added Subject Headings for : Themes, Types of Criticism, Geographic Area, Time Period, Genre Has a controlled vocabulary for searching
Google Scholar	Covers Scholarly information on the Public Internet	Is the best for unpublished Information Has a different algorithm that draws your attention to things that you may not have noticed in other databases, even when they were there Has the Cited by Function - You can look up one article and find where it was cited in a more recent article
JSTOR	Major Scholarly Books and Journals	Includes the major Journals in most fields - and books from a select group of scholarly publishers - so you know the content is good. Searches the Full Text - Best when you can't find your topics in an article title or Subject Heading
WorldCat	Combined Library Catalogs of over 50,000 Libraries worldwide	Includes the largest number of books published worldwide Allows you to search Chapter Titles for Writers and Works

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers world history after 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Indexes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Includes sources on Francophone Canada in French & English. You can limited by region or by language

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages, including those in France.

ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Includes French Art as well as Art from Francophone countries. It also includes articles written in French. You can limit by region or language

ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
1949–present. Covers religious and theological scholarship in over a thousand international journals and 14,000 multi-author works.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
1940–present. Indexes books and journals in all areas of philosophy, including aesthetics, bioethics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, social & political philosophy, and the philosophy of education, history, language, law, religion, and science.

RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
1967–present. Comprehensive database to scholarly literature on music. Indexes articles, bibliographies, books, catalogues, conference proceedings, critical commentaries to complete works, dissertations, electronic resources, ethnographic recordings and videos, festschriften, iconographies, reviews, and more. Particularly strong for classical music. For popular music publications, see Academic Search Premier.

Biological Science / Agricultural & Environmental Science Database/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Search these 3 databases at the same time.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
1969–present. Provides citations for journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics from hundreds of sources. NOTE: Many of the articles in EconLit are working papers from the RePEc database. "Search for full text" will NOT take you to the full text of these working papers. Look for the links in the EconLit records to the full text of the working papers.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
1970–present. A collection of hundreds of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1952–present. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.