Skip to Main Content

Registry Numbers and Physical Property Data

Where to find Registry Numbers, physical property data, and other identification information for chemical substances

SciFinder-n

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder-n) This link opens in a new window
See tabs in this guide for how to register for an account and use SciFinder-n to find CAS registry and physical property information.

Reference Resources

The Merck Index
Print Location: Kistle Science Library Reference RS51 .M4
An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals; contains indexes arranged by Registry Number, molecular formula, chemical name, etc.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Print Location: Kistle Science Library Reference QD65 .H3

Dictionary of Organic Compounds (and supplements)
Publication Date: 1982
Print Location: Kistle Science Library Reference QD246 .D5 1982
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds (and supplements) by Jane E. Macintyre (Editor)
Publication Date: 1992
Print Location: Kistle Science Library Reference QD148 .D53 1992

Handbook of tables for Organic Compound Identification
Print Location: Kistle Science Library Reference QD291 .R28 1967

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Publication Date: 2004
Print Location: Kistle Science Library Reference TP9 .K54 2004 (26 volumes + index)
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Publication Date: 2005
Print Location: Kistle Science Library Reference QD65 .L36

ChemSpider
From the Royal Society of Chemistry.
PubChem
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
National Institute of Standards and Technology; thermochemical, ion energetics, spectra, thermophysical, and other data.