LibGuides: Linguistics: Identify

Identify

Identify
. . . these sources can help you find evidence to answer your question or validate/invalidate an answer.
Choosing sources (video)

Start with --

Grinnell College Libraries This link opens in a new window
Books, media, websites, databases, artwork, and more.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts/Sociological Abstracts/PsycINFO/PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
BEST source; search these four databases as a good starting point for finding primary literature in linguistics and related areas.
Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and edited works in archaeology, anthropology, and linguistics; also covers sociology, history, ethnohistory, demography, geography, international development, and human genetics.

OLAC: Open Language Archives Community
"Provides access to a wealth of information about thousands of languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives."
Linguistic Fieldwork Links
Links to linguistics resources from Yale University.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than sixty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. Not all material is available to view as full text due to copyright restrictions.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital library that archives texts, audio, music, moving images, software, videos/films, and web pages from the Internet for researchers, historians, and scholars, as well as the general public. Also provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.
Mouton Grammar Library This link opens in a new window
The series builds an extensive collection of high-quality descriptions of languages around the world. Each volume offers a comprehensive grammatical description of a single language together with fully analyzed sample texts and, if appropriate, a word list and other relevant information which is available on the language in question.

Linguist List
International Linguistics Community Online; a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers world history after 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Indexes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

Linguistic Society of America
The Linguistic Society of America (LSA) was founded in 1924 to advance the scientific study of language. The LSA plays a critical role in supporting and disseminating linguistic scholarship both to professional linguists and to the general public.

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
A cross-cultural database that provides ethnographic studies of diverse cultures within the United States and around the world. From Human Relations Area Files.