LibGuides: AMS 395 World-Ending/World-Making: Scholarly Databases--By Discipline and Location

Scholarly Sources

Scholarly Databases by Discipline:

AnthroSource
1888–present. Full-text online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association.

Black Studies Center
Consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and the full-text of The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975.

GenderWatch
1970–present. A collection of hundreds of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.
HeinOnline Academic Core Collections
A large collection of full-text legal and government publications both current and historical, covering United States Federal and State law, foreign and international law, legal classics, law journals, treaties, case law, and much more.
Historical Abstracts
Covers world history after 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Indexes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.
Literature Online (LION)
Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, with nearly 400 full-text literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources.
MLA International Bibliography
1926–present. Online database indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature
1967–present. Comprehensive database of scholarly literature on music. Indexes articles, bibliographies, books, catalogues, conference proceedings, critical commentaries to complete works, dissertations, electronic resources, ethnographic recordings and videos, festschriften, iconographies, reviews, and more. Particularly strong for classical music. For popular-music publications, see Academic Search Premier.
Sociological Abstracts
1952–present. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Index of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Database of over 20,000 free, full-text, peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals, covering a wide range of subject areas in a variety of languages in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Humanities Source
Offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Covers the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities and includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
JSTOR
Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.
Project MUSE
Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Scholarly Databases by Location, People:

African Journals Online
a collection of over 380 peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. AJOL provides access to citations, and where available to abstracts and/or full-text. There is also an option to show all the (free) Open Access journals that are part of AJOL.
Australia & New Zealand Database
Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
East & South Asia Database
Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
East Europe, Central Europe Database‎
Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
GenderWatch
A database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
India Database
This database is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource of full-text, scholarly journals published in India during the last five years, supporting many subjects, including business, medicine, science, technology, social sciences and humanities.

Latin America & Iberia Database
Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Middle East and Africa Database
Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
REDALYC (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal)
Provides open access to the full text of scientific materials from over 1,000 journals published throughout Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal.
SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online
O Biblioteca Científica Electrónica en Línea es un modelo para la publicación electrónica cooperativa de revistas científicas en Internet. Especialmente desarrollado para responder a las necesidades de la comunicación científica en los países en desarrollo y particularmente de América Latina y el Caribe.

UK & Ireland Database‎
Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.