LibGuides: Annotated Bibliographies: Examples

Historical Annotated Bibliographies

Before databases made searching for relevant material easier, researchers relied on bibliographies complied by experts in the field to find and literature and Libraries used these to update collections and direct patrons to relevant material. Annotated Bibliographies were even more valuable because the expert annotations let readers know more about the contents and the work's standing in the field. In the following tabs are examples of historical bibliographies. Keep in mind that they may contain language and statements that are completely inaccurate or offensive. These items are provided by HathiTrust Digital Library, and you may need to login to view.

ANTA (Organization). (1952). Theater bibliography. New York.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. (1993). Annotated bibliography. Washington, DC (100 Raoul Wallenberg Place, SW, Washington 20024): U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Hamilton, L. Blair., National Center for Appropriate Technology (U.S.). (1978). Solar bibliography. Butte, Mont.: National Center for Appropriate Technology.

Modern Annotated Bibliographies

Modern published Annotated Bibliographies can look different from the traditional annotated bibliography and resemble something more akin to a literature review or a bibliographic essay. The sources are commented on and put in context with other sources and cited using in-text citations in an essay format, instead of presenting each item individually, citation first, with commentary specific to that item. Some still stick to the traditional format, and others combine the two.

Woodstock Scholarship by Jeffrey N. Gatten
ISBN: 9781783742882
Publication Date: 2016-11-11
Since August 1969, the Woodstock Music and Art Fair looms large when recounting the history and impact of the baby boom generation and the societal upheavals of the Sixties. Scholars study the sociological, political, musical, and artistic impact of the event and use it as a cultural touchstone when exploring alternative perspectives or seeking clarity. This interdisciplinary annotated bibliography records the details of over 400 English-language resources on the Festival, including books, chapters, articles, websites, transcriptions and videos.

Collecting Grey Literature: An Annotated Bibliography, with Examples from the Sciences and Technology. (2005). Science & Technology Libraries (New York, N.Y.), 25(3), 35–70. https://doi.org/10.1300/J122v25n03_04
Acquisition and access for grey literature have always been problematic. Compiled for librarians and researchers, the bibliography surveys these issues in the library literature. The introduction of the bibliography outlines the history of grey literature publishing and its value to scientific and scholarly research, as well as, lists problems with the acquisition and bibliographic control of this type of literature.

An Annotated Bibliography for Taiwan Film Studies by Jim Cheng (Editor); James Wicks (Editor); Sachie Noguchi (Editor)
ISBN: 9780231173827
Publication Date: 2016-04-19
Compiled by two skilled librarians and a Taiwanese film and culture specialist, this volume is the first multilingual and most comprehensive bibliography of Taiwanese film scholarship, designed to satisfy the broad interests of the modern researcher.

Sonego, L. (2024). Annotated Bibliography “Arabic Papyrology: Gender, Conversions, and Book Culture.” Der Islam (Berlin), 101(2), 521–544. https://doi.org/10.1515/islam-2024-0026
Accuracy in Research: An Annotated Bibliography. (2022). Journal of Human Lactation, 38(3), 397–400. https://doi.org/10.1177/08903344221101384
ABSTRACT: Over the past 2 years, the Journal of Human Lactation (JHL) has published a body of work about the use of gendered language in lactation research and how we have chosen to address this form of scientific bias, aiming toward greater inclusiveness. Together these six articles provide context for the complexities that we and others have experienced while enacting our gendered language policy. It is our hope that both authors and readers will take the time to read and to understand the whole picture presented in this body of work, as pieces taken out of context can be misleading.

Austbø, B., Løvseth, S. W., & Gundersen, T. (2014). Annotated bibliography—Use of optimization in LNG process design and operation. Computers & Chemical Engineering, 71, 391–414. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.compchemeng.2014.09.010
•Annotated review and classification of 186 journal and conference publications.•Mainly focused on use of optimization in LNG process design and operation
Link, A. N., & Strong, D. R. (2016). Gender and Entrepreneurship: An Annotated Bibliography. Foundations and Trends in Entrepreneurship, 12(4–5), 287–441. https://doi.org/10.1561/0300000068
ABSTRACT: Entrepreneurship, from a gender perspective, is not only an academic topic of growing interest
but also a topic of policy importance across many nations. In an effort to describe the scope of
scholarly inquiry into this topic, we have constructed an annotated bibliography of 563 scholarly
contributions covering the period 1979 to the present. These contributions were selected
systematically, and they represent 16 different categories of research.
Amaechi, C. V., Amaechi, E. C., Oyetunji, A. K., & Kgosiemang, I. M. (2022). Scientific Review and Annotated Bibliography of Teaching in Higher Education Academies on Online Learning: Adapting to the COVID-19 Pandemic. Sustainability, 14(19), 12006-. http
. In this paper, the scientific review on teaching in Higher Education Academies (HEA) for online learning is presented with their frontiers towards sustainable education. The current work also gives an annotated bibliography that aims to consolidate and synthesise the literature on student engagement, online learning, social media, and teacher learning/training. Some conclusions and recommendations were also made on the study.