LibGuides: Tutorial: P. Smith Old English Re-imagined: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford's encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use online reference tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as numerous images, audio files, and video clips.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Digital multimedia version of the premier English-language encyclopedia.

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Covers all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 CE, as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era. Over 800 scholars have assembled thousands of comprehensive entries, lavishly supplemented by hundreds of illustrations and dozens of maps.

Oxford English Dictionary (online) This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).

Dictionary of Old English
Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language. The Dictionary of Old English is a University of Toronto project; users can create an account to get 20 free sessions a year.

Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia that addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements, and historical events around the world, with interactive features that enable the user to place literature within its historical context.

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Provides comprehensive coverage of the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland and substantial accounts of individual authors and detailed histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
The online version of The Grove Dictionary of Art, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. This is a subset of Oxford Art Online.