HIS 314: U.S. Civil War: History and Memory

Online database containing over 60,000 primary-source documents from the beginnings of European settlement of North America to the end of World War II. Sourced from the collections of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, it is divided into two modules: Module 1: "Settlement, Commerce, Revolution, and Reform: 1493–1859" and Module 2: "Civil War, Reconstruction, and the Modern Era: 1860–1945." Also provides essays, chronologies, videos, and interactive features. Automated extraction of data is not allowed directly from the database without the written consent of Adam Matthew--see a Librarian for assistance.

1830–1865. A primary-source collection that details the work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War through approximately 15,000 articles, documents, manuscripts, proceedings, correspondence, and literary works created by nearly 300 Black abolitionists across North America and Europe.

Full-text database containing all U.S. Executive Branch documents listed in the "Checklist of Public Documents, 1789–1909" (and not printed in the U.S. Serial Set), as well as thousands of additional documents from 1910–1939. Indexed by subjects, names, agency report numbers, and SuDocs Classification.

1543–1945. Online collection of books, pamphlets, and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights, originally created by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen in the late 19th century. The collection is noteworthy for its size, scope, and diversity, and contains substantial material relating to women's experiences in the public arena as well as all aspects of women's lives within the home.

Digital library that archives texts, audio, music, moving images, software, videos/films, and web pages from the Internet for researchers, historians, and scholars, as well as the general public. Also provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.

Offers the full text of thousands of books, serials, pamphlets, essays, and more from major libraries around the world. These resources track the development of the modern, western world (from 1450 onwards) through the lens of trade and wealth. The titles are in English as well as many other languages.

This collection showcases the development of 'popular' remedies and treatments in America during the 19th century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. These popular practices were built upon earlier traditions of folk medicine and help to show the relationships between the old-style apothecaries and the newly emerging scientific methods. Trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine, and hydrotherapy are covered. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.

Database of primary source documents from women's reform organizations such as the Women's Trade Union League, the National Association of Colored Women, Henry Street and Hull House settlements, and the National Women's Party.

Online collection of primary source materials focusing on women's role in the United States economy, selected from Harvard University's library and museum holdings. Topics include commerce, costs of living, health and hygiene, home life, recreation, social issues, working conditions, and workplace regulations.

1817–1994. Fully searchable database containing nearly 75,000 maps, published as part of U.S. Congressional Serial Set.