Grinnell College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the New York Times through its web site via a site license paid for by the Grinnell College Libraries (the site license was negotiated by the Center for Research Libraries).
Questions about the site license and access can be directed to Kevin Engel (engelk@grinnell.edu).
This institutional site license provides access to the content of the New York Times from 1851 to present.
In addition, access to the content of every print edition of the New York Times from 1851 through 2002 is available via the TimesMachine, an interactive digital version of the New York Times print archive. The TimesMachine allows users to read the complete print editions of the New York Times as they originally appeared--with every article provided in a legible, linkable, and shareable fashion. While searching is possible within individual issues of the paper, it is not possible to search across different issues of the New York Times in TimesMachine.
Searching across issues and years remains available via the Library database New York Times Historical – available on and off-campus. This database from ProQuest provides complete access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2015.
The site license also provides access to some special content aimed at higher education, linked below (to get initial access to the education web site, you may need to register--use the option at the top right hand corner of the screen; if you register, be sure to use your Grinnell College email address; the password you choose for the education web site can be different than the password used for the New York Times academic site license).
The New York Times Audio app is also available with the site license.
PLEASE NOTE that SSO does not work on the New York Times APP.
First, log out of your New York Times account. It will not work if you are logged in.
To add single sign on to an existing account go to this webpage (NOTE: It is important to use this URL specifically!)
Sign into your account
A popup will ask you to login again with your Grinnell account.
Authenticate with duo and you will be logged in! In the future SSO will be the primary way to login.
PLEASE NOTE that SSO does not work on the New York Times APP.
Go to this site and at the bottom click continue with work or school single sign on. (NOTE: It is important to use this URL for easier setup.)
A second window will pop up. Enter your grinnell email
Enter your password
Duo will pop up. Authenticate with DUO
Once you are signed in the original window should show The message below.
Single sign on may not be the best fit if you often access the New York Times from off-campus.
*To create a personal account without using single sign on, go to the link below and:
Click on "Create Account" to set up a NYTimes.com account; you will be asked to provide an email address and create a password--you must register using your College email address (@grinnell.edu).
At the bottom of the welcome page, click "Sign Up."
You will then see "Check your email." Look for a message from the New York Times ("Confirm Your Email Address") which should arrive within a few minutes.
Click on the link in the email. This will verify your eligibility and grant you access to nytimes.com.
If you are having access issues after creating an account, go to this Site (this will often fix your access).
I already have a subscription to the New York Times that includes online access; does the College site license affect that personal subscription?
No, it doesn’t. Your personal subscription and the College site license are separate. Your options are the following:
If you already have a personal subscription that provides online access to the New York Times, you probably do not want to use the College site license. Some personal subscriptions offer greater online access than is available through the College site license.
If you wish, you can wait for your personal subscription to end and then register for the College site license. Registration for the site license can occur at any time.
Or, you can keep your personal subscription and register for the College site license as well. To do so, you need to make sure that your personal subscription is not registered under your College email address. If it is, go into your personal New York Times account and change the preferred email address to something other than yourname@grinnell.edu. You can then register for the College site license using your campus email address. The same email address cannot be used on multiple New York Times accounts.
How do I know if I have registered for the site license correctly?
Once you have registered for the site license and have signed in, the word "Account" will appear in the upper right hand corner of the New York Times web page. If you click "Account", you will see information about the subscription including "Account settings" and "Subscription overview."
Will I ever need to sign in after I have successfully registered?
Yes, unless you see "Account" in the upper right hand corner of the New York Times web page, you need to sign in to get the access granted under the site license.
Will I ever need to renew my registration?
Upon registration, a faculty or staff member is granted online access to the New York Times for four years. After that four years, you will be required to renew your registration and then will be granted an additional four years of access, and so on.
If you are a student, access is granted through the end of your graduation year--up to four years.
You will not receive a reminder email from the New York Times when it is time to renew your access. Your best alternative is to create a calendar reminder at the time of registration or renewal. To renew, go to the registration link above, log in, and follow the instructions; that will reset your access for another four years.
Does the College site license allow me to use the New York Times as a resource for my class?
Yes, it does. Besides the special educational web site, nytimes.com links can be incorporated into class pages on Blackboard.
Are the New York Times crosswords available through the site license?
No, unfortunately, they are not. The crosswords are available through a separate web site--and represent a separate revenue stream for the company.
Need to get in touch with a librarian? Have a question? Want to schedule a library lab? Here are some links to help.
