LibGuides: Political Science: U.S. Government Publications

U.S. Government Publications

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
1941–1996. As the United States' principal historical record of political open-source intelligence for more than half a century, the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report provides insights into six decades of turbulent world history. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Digitized from original paper copy and high-quality microfilm, this fully searchable collection features full-text transcripts from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, China, Eastern and Western Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, and the Soviet Union. Includes the FBIS Daily Report Annexes and five topic-based sub-collections.
HeinOnline Academic Core Collections This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text legal and government publications both current and historical, covering United States Federal and State law, foreign and international law, legal classics, law journals, treaties, case law, and much more.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports This link opens in a new window
1957–1995. As a unit of the Central Intelligence Agency, the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) prepared translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from around the world, particularly communist and developing countries. These reports, covering military, socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, and technical issues and events, were used by U.S. government officials, various agencies, and the research and industrial communities. Now in a fully seachable digital edition, a vast body of foreign materials is available in English to researchers studying geopolitics, public policy, the Cold War, and more.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
1789–present. Provides access to the full text of House and Senate hearings, reports, and documents; reports from the Congressional Research Service; the Congressional Record; legislative histories; and vote reports. Also contains an extensive collection of Executive Branch documents.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
1817–1994. Online access to the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, with numerous images and statistical tables. Print version, approximately 13,800 bound volumes, available upon request.
DiscoverGov This link opens in a new window
Identify government publications from any U.S. federal government agency, including historical publications. Some publications are available online.

State Legislative History Research
Links to resources for researching activities of the state legislatures for all 50 U.S. states. From the University of Indiana Bloomington's Maurer School of Law.
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. This database covers the period from the Lincoln Administration to 1960.
U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) via govinfo
Fully searchable content management system and repository for official Federal Government publications, providing free online access to the documents of all three branches of the U.S. government.
United States Senate
Official information on senators and senate committees.
House.gov
The official website of the House of Representatives. Contains links to individual representatives' web pages, lists of committee members, representatives' financial disclosure reports, and much more.
Congress.gov
1973–present. Official government source for information on bills considered by the U.S. Congress. Provides overviews of legislation, profiles of members of Congress, committee information and reports, and educational materials on the legislative process. Also offers the Congressional Record from 1995 to the present.