Sociology

Fully-searchable database of approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source documents on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Materials include newsletters, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, manuscripts, and pamphlets that shed light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

Explore records from men’s and women’s organizations, advice literature, and etiquette books to reveal developing gender roles and relations. Gain an insight into changing societal expectations about gender roles through personal diaries and correspondence and explore the life and careers of key figures and pioneers in gender history. Automated extraction of data is not allowed directly from the database without the written consent of Adam Matthew--see a Librarian for assistance.

Over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries, primarily spanning the 1960s to the 1980s. Starting with materials by feminists and soldiers, the collection has grown to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black, and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

1937–1967. Online archive of primary source material from the Mass Observation project, a pioneering social-research organization in Britain in the mid-20th century. The collection combines scientific observation of human behavior with diaries and personal writings from a panel of volunteers, and includes both published and manuscript materials.

Database of primary source documents from women's reform organizations such as the Women's Trade Union League, the National Association of Colored Women, Henry Street and Hull House settlements, and the National Women's Party.