LibGuides: Chemistry: Identify

Identify

Identify
. . . these sources can help you find evidence to answer your question or validate/invalidate an answer.
Choosing sources (video)

Start with --

ACS journals search
BETTER source; the full text of articles from 50+ journals published by the American Chemical Society from the very first issues to the present.

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder-n) This link opens in a new window
BEST source; provides in-depth coverage of the scholarly research literature published worldwide in all areas of chemistry.

SciFinder registration
SciFinder requires individual registration for use; be sure to use your grinnell.edu email address and fill in all required fields; you can create your own user name and password. After clicking "Register", you will receive an email; click the verification link in the email to complete registration. Once registered, access is available 24/7 on and off-campus.

WebCSD This link opens in a new window
Database of bibliographic, chemical, and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds, provided by the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre, the world's repository of small molecule crystal structures.

Standard methods for the examination of water and wastewater
Print Location: Science Library Reference QD142 .A5
Ground Water & Drinking Water
From the United States Environmental Protection Agency.
National Primary Drinking Water Regulations
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's National Primary Drinking Water Regulations (NPDWR) are legally enforceable primary standards and treatment techniques that apply to public water systems.
USGS Water Resources Data of the United States
Provides access to water-resources data collected at nearly two million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

BRENDA
The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
ChemIDplus
Online chemical identification resource maintained by the National Library of Medicine. Provides comprehensive information about chemical substances from over 70 chemical databases.
Internet Resources for MSDS
Links to searchable collections of Safety Data Sheets (SDS) and Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS).
NIST Online Scientific Databases
Links compiled and annotated by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Sequence Retrieval System
For searching across multiple databases in Biochemistry including SWISS PROT and BLAST; allows searching of proteins by molecular weight and other characteristics.
BLAST
BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool) is a set of similarity search programs designed to explore all of the available sequence databases regardless of whether the query is protein or DNA.
SWISS PROT
Full-text search option; for finding the molecular weight of and much other data about proteins.