Remember Different Tools, Databases, Catalogs & Search Engines Search Different Universes.
Think about What the tool is searching, not just how good the search algorithm is.
Example: If you want to find articles in a specific journal, and that journal is not found or indexed on the public internet, then Google can't find it.
Database Chart ~ Descriptions & Source Types
Find on Databases A-Z list by 1st letter of Database name
|
Database Name |
Topics |
Source Types |
Universe |
|
Sociological Abstracts |
Immigrant identity topics from a Sociological perspective – good for most topics in this class |
Primarily Journal Articles ; Also Book Chapters, Books & Dissertations |
Scholarly Published Materials Print & Online Historical & Current Includes Proprietary |
|
MLA International Bibliography |
Immigrant identity topics related to Modern Language or Literatures e – Including all modern languages. |
Primarily Journal Articles & Book Chapters. Includes Some Books & Dissertations |
Scholarly Published Materials Print & Online Historical & Current Includes Proprietary |
|
ATLA : Religion Database |
Provides scholarly coverage of immigration topics when related to religion or philosophy. |
Primarily Journal Articles & Book Chapters. Includes Some Books & Dissertations |
Scholarly Published Materials Print & Online Historical & Current Includes Proprietary |
|
Google Scholar |
All Immigrant identity topics.
|
All Source types |
Limited to items indexed / listed on the public internet. Lower % of published / proprietary Scholarly – more broadly defined than others can include undergraduate / HS material |
|
America : History & Life |
Immigrant identity topics related to the US and Canada -- immigrants from any country into the US or Canada. |
Books, Book Chapters, Journal Articles, Dissertations & Book Reviews |
Scholarly Published Materials Print & Online Historical & Current Includes Proprietary |
|
Historical Abstracts |
Immigrant identity topics related to Europe, Mexico, Central America, South America, Asia, & Oceania. Except the US and Canada |
Books, Book Chapters, Journal Articles, Dissertations & Book Reviews |
Scholarly Published Materials Print & Online Historical & Current Includes Proprietary |
|
Access World News |
Immigrant topics in Newspapers & Newswires worldwide & in multiple languages. |
Newspapers, Newswires, Blogs |
Published & Web-based Print & Online Primarily Current Includes some proprietary |
|
JSTOR |
Provides Scholarly coverage of all topics related to this course, but only a limited number of specific journals. |
Books, Book Chapters, Journal Articles |
Scholarly Published Materials Print & Online Historical & Current Includes Proprietary |
|
Grinnell Library Catalog |
All immigrant identity topics |
Books, Journal Articles, Newspaper Articles, Book Chapters, Government Documents |
Scholarly & Popular Primarily Published Some Document / Web-based Print & Online Historical & Current Includes proprietary |
