Tutorial: The Politics of Commemoration (Byrd)

A subset of America's Historical Newspapers, created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this collection include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN), and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.

1690–1998. Electronic editions-of-record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers compiled in a single database. Paid ads are excluded.

Online database documenting life in America from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction to the first decade of the 20th century, offering the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Created in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, the collection covers topics including politics, religion, health, entertainment, history, science, and the economy.

Searchable online access to the full text of the Chicago Tribune (including advertisements) from 1849 through 2010. Available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. For more recent editions, see US Newsstream.

1690–1922. Full text of hundreds of early American newspapers, including titles from all of today's 50 states. Part of America's Historical Newspapers.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808–1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.

Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2015. For current access, see U.S. Newsstream, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources, or go to the New York Times Subject Guide for instructions on registering for a free account.

1785–2019. Fully searchable access to the complete backfile of The Times of London, including text, images, editorials, and advertisements. Part of Gale Primary Sources.

Open-access digital collection of local, regional, and national newspapers published in the 1920s by organizations affiliated with or sympathetic to the Ku Klux Klan. Some anti-Klan publications are also included, showing the tensions in this period between pluralism and tribalism in America.