LibGuides: Tutorial: Chen: Envisioning Identities: Self, Subgroups, "The Other," and Belonging: Reference Resources

Reference Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use online reference tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as numerous images, audio files, and video clips.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford's encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Digital multimedia version of the premier English-language encyclopedia.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Contains reference material covering all major scientific disciplines with articles drawn from McGraw-Hill encyclopedias, dictionaries, and yearbooks, as well as videos, curriculum materials, and links to primary source documents.
Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia that addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements, and historical events around the world, with interactive features that enable the user to place literature within its historical context.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction, and post-colonialism.
Reference Resources
A listing of online, discipline-specific encyclopedias and dictionaries available to Grinnell College students, faculty and staff.