Newspapers and Magazines

Historical archive of newspapers from around the world.

1911–1949. Open-access collection of newspapers from more than 20 cities in China, spanning from the collapse of the Qing imperial dynasty through the years of provisional government and civil war to the birth of the modern People's Republic.

1805–1922. Searchable collection of 35 historical Latin American newspapers published in Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad, and Venezuela.

Established in 1912, Pravda is the chief chronicle of Russian and Soviet history, from the beginnings of the Russian Revolution through World War II, the Cold War, the fall of the Soviet Union, and up to the present day. The archive contains PDFs of nearly every year of this primary resource. The full text of all articles can be searched in Cyrillic or Roman characters.

1785–2019. Fully searchable access to the complete backfile of The Times of London, including text, images, editorials, and advertisements. Part of Gale Primary Sources.

1801–1900. Database containing over one million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain, including titles on women, children, sports & leisure, and humor. Part of Gale Primary Sources.

The largest single collection of English news media from the 17th and 18th centuries, this database provides unique content for research into a wide range of political, educational, economic, historical, and journalistic topics. Part of the Gale NewsVault.

A consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. They have an extensive collection of newspapers on microfilm that can be interlibrary loaned.