Gender, Women, & Sexuality Studies

Online database containing over 60,000 primary-source documents from the beginnings of European settlement of North America to the end of World War II. Sourced from the collections of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, it is divided into two modules: Module 1: "Settlement, Commerce, Revolution, and Reform: 1493–1859" and Module 2: "Civil War, Reconstruction, and the Modern Era: 1860–1945." Also provides essays, chronologies, videos, and interactive features. Automated extraction of data is not allowed directly from the database without the written consent of Adam Matthew--see a Librarian for assistance.

Fully-searchable database of approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source documents on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Materials include newsletters, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, manuscripts, and pamphlets that shed light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

1830–1865. A primary-source collection that details the work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War through approximately 15,000 articles, documents, manuscripts, proceedings, correspondence, and literary works created by nearly 300 Black abolitionists across North America and Europe.

1543–1945. Online collection of books, pamphlets, and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights, originally created by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen in the late 19th century. The collection is noteworthy for its size, scope, and diversity, and contains substantial material relating to women's experiences in the public arena as well as all aspects of women's lives within the home.

Over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries, primarily spanning the 1960s to the 1980s. Starting with materials by feminists and soldiers, the collection has grown to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black, and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

Online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters, and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and the community.

Covering a span of 400 years, this digital primary-source collection highlights the society, politics, religious beliefs, customs, and momentous events in the Americas from the late 15th century to the first decades of the 20th century. Materials include books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other documents from an assortment of genres—from sermons and political tracts to legislation and literature—drawn from Joseph Sabin’s famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time.

Database of primary source documents from women's reform organizations such as the Women's Trade Union League, the National Association of Colored Women, Henry Street and Hull House settlements, and the National Women's Party.

Online collection of primary source materials focusing on women's role in the United States economy, selected from Harvard University's library and museum holdings. Topics include commerce, costs of living, health and hygiene, home life, recreation, social issues, working conditions, and workplace regulations.

Developed by Grinnell's Professor Carolyn Herbst Lewis and Helen Eckhard '18 (History) in consultation with the DLAC and the Libraries and with funding from Digital Bridges, the Digital Sexuality Archive (DIG Sex), is a gateway to the wonderful digital resources available on sex and sexuality in the United States. DIG Sex serves as a resource not only for academic researchers but for anyone interested in the history of sex and sexuality. The archive represents an important addition to the movement actively engaged in promoting projects that insist that questions of race, class, gender, sexuality, and disability be central to the digital humanities.